Help with son's rifle/scope

huntFX4

LAST EDITED ON Sep-20-09 AT 07:47PM (MST)[p]Took my son out with his Rem 700 in .270 which i bought last year at Cabela's as a combo with a 3-9 variable Pine Ridge scope. When we put a few rounds through it last year, I realized the scope was really loose. Today, shooting the bulk HSM ammo from Cabela's in 130 grain, I sighted it in at 28 yards driving tacks, so it would have a 250 yard zero. Then I set a target at 150 yards where it should have been shooting about 3 inches high, but it was shooting about 6 inches high. So I went to 225 yards where it should have been only about 1 inch high. It was shooting about 7 inches high. This doesn't make sense. Any ideas???
I was a marksmanship instructor for a number of years in the Marine Corps and this has me baffled.
Thanks ahead of time.

LAST EDITED ON Sep-20-09 AT 08:15PM (MST)[p]It sounds like something is still loose. Bulk ammo is usually crap for accuracy.

LAST EDITED ON Sep-20-09 AT 08:45PM (MST)[p]Thanks Shummy, I was thinking the same thing possibly about the ammo. The same ammo actually shoots more accurately than Remington soft point out of my rifle, but is probably not very accurate out of my son's. I just re-aligned and tightened the scope before going out.

One thing that surprised me is that at 100 yards the impact moved 3 inches with 5 clicks instead of the 1 1/4 that it should have when i decided to go to 100 and try that.

Scopes have let me down more than anything else.

Do not trust the scope. If you have another proven scope you can put on, try that.

my dad had a pine ridge on his savage 270 that he bought as a combo and it was dead on one shot then the next was off we ended up puttin paper around the scope rings and put on a new scope and it was fine after that

$MAVERICK$

LAST EDITED ON Sep-20-09 AT 11:30PM (MST)[p]Tighten everything down and boresight, then try sighting in again.Then if that doesn't work then get a new Bushnell.