Elk Rifles

• Thread starter montana hunter (Guest)
  • Start date
M

montana hunter (Guest)

I am relatively new to elk hunting, and have only gotten 1 in 5 years. This last year we got into a bunch of them, but my I didn't think my rifle was big enough to get the clean kill. I'm thinking about getting a .300 but I really don't know anything about them. Could anybody give me any useful info on these guns or even a better selection. I also plan to use this gun for deer hunting.

David

I am using a 300 win mag right now I have only gotten one elk but almost everyone else in my family uses the 300 win mag also and many elk and deer have been taken with this cal in my family with usually just one shot.

Jake

I have had success with my 300 Win Mag for elk and large game for the last ten years. I use the Federal Premium 180gr Nosler Partitions which worked perfect on my bull last year at 400yds.

This year I shot a large body buck four times with my .300 win mag before he went down (2 times in the shoulder, once 2 inches behind the shoulder and once by the last rib). He was stone dead 10 seconds after the first shot but I am surprised that he was able to stay on his feet that long with four 180 grain bullets (and bone fragments) going through his lungs. Last year I shot a large body buck out of his bed with the exact same load in the chest and he was dead before he even had a chance to realize anything was wrong. Some animals (especially elk) are just going to be harder to knock down.