X-5b

B

buckbuster64

anybody know how many pt's it might take to draw a deer tag for this unit.I have 5pt's.and i guess i woundering how long it might take?????????????

Resident? I would think you would be close

Nonresident? Same thing. I draw in an X Zone about every 5 years.

I think from the last time i looked, there were still more people with max points applying for that zone than there were tags to be given. Might be worth a try though! Historically, one of the better Big Buck zones in the State but this area is well down in deer numbers and no way similar to what it was even 10 years ago. Good luck!

Joey

yea i am a Resident,going by yours i shoul draw this year or next for sure.Thanks for the info.

Yea i know but i live in the north state therfore i want to hunt in the north state.I know their are some units that might be better,but there is a lot of public land in this unit And to take anything decent in CA. anymore you have to hunt the X-zones.

I really like the area, If it a good snow year it a great hunt.

"I have found if you go the extra mile it's Never crowded".

The only times I hunted that area was in the mid to late 1960's. Killed a couple of OK bucks, saw some better ones, but wasn't able to seal the deal. Alot of deer then, but I'm aware of how times change. Obviously this was before the "zones" came into being.
Good luck to ya if ya do get drawn.

Yea thanks for info,Yea everthing was differnt in the 60's.I used to go 25 miles from home & kill a Buck every year,started go bad about the time somebody voted to protect the mountain Lion and a few other things.....Thoughs were the days many a time i would get off work grab my 300 SAV and head for the foot hills,also back then the season stayed open into the first week of Nov.Anyway thanks again and good luck to you also.