WA Mountain Goats

B

ButcherBoy

Got drawn for unit 3-10 this year and can't wait to get out. I'm not going to head out until Oct 12, to give them a chance to fur up alittle. Anyway this is my first time after a goat. Hopefuly I'm up for the task. I'm going over next week, then the week after to scout. I'll let you know next week what I find.

Wish me luck.

Tony

LAST EDITED ON Sep-21-05 AT 09:38PM (MST)[p]ButcherBoy,

I am sitting here with a goat tag in hand as well (Naches). I went in last weekend for the first time. Saw 11 total with one being a pretty nice billy. Got some great vid at about 300 yards. Just decided he was a bit short horned (8 1/2") for the first weekend but for mid-Sept pretty good hair. We got a good frost both mornings. He was not an easy one to walk away from however as my cousin (who has 2 WA goats) was shaking his head. I wish I was a little closer to the unit(5 hrs) so I could spend more time there. This $3.25 diesel suuuuuucks.

We shall see what else is out there I guess.

Good luck to ya,

Glen

Glen,

Sorry to hear about the drive! I'm up in Anacortes, so it takes me about three hours to be hunting. I've always wanted to go goat hunting over anything else. My wife was going to send me to Alaska for my 30th birthday, she was all ready to book the hunt, but with two kids 6 and 2 years old I just couldn't do it. Six years later, I'm going on the hunt of a lifetime, for me anyway.

I just got a 12x17 wall tent with all the extras and I'm taking off from the 12th to the 31 so I've got the time to take a nice goat. I just hope I can judge them ok.

Well good luck and be safe.
Tony

ramslam,
You gotta be one of the luckiest guys I ever heard of when it comes to the draws. I know you probably been puttin in since the earth cooled off! Good luck, hope you get one over 9"!

Tony,