utah elk survey

nuts4bucks

i just got an e-mail from utah fish and game about a random elk survey. it said the current management plan expires next year and wanted my input. im a non resident and have never had the chance to hunt elk in utah. im just like all the other fools appling just dreaming about getting a tag someday before i die. well what should i tell them.

is this some super secrect survey as they gave me my own unique i.d. number and said for me not to forward this email as that would only mess up the results of the survey.

I am in same boat as you. I just answered the questions the best I can. I answered the questions in the interest of quality.

I am a Utah resident with 13 elk points, 2 deer points, also mtn goat, bear, cougar, moose, and desert bighorn points. I also answered the questions in the interest of quality. Basically I said I am in favor of the plan as it is, with minor tweeking as needed.

Completed my survey too. To bad I get drawn for surveys instead of Big Bull Tags!

I enjoy hunting for elk every year on the Front. But I have to give up hunting with a rifle. I have enjoyed it so much ever since I bought a bow back almost 9 years ago.

No bashing on rifles... but primitive hunting has allowed me to hunt the extended area due to no-rifle policy. I have felt I have had to wait several years now to put in... I am nearly there or half way there, don't screw with hunting for big bulls now, if we all wanted to hunt for any rag-horn bull, we all can drive to ID or CO.

For me...I have taken a 250 (2004) bull and (2009)260 bull off the Front in the general tag. Until that first kill, I actually went to Colorado for the general season tag. Got into bulls and enjoyed hunting them.