Utah coyote vs deer study

Save the money, kill the coyotes. Elaborate study just to find out what they already know. It might be interesting information, but it won't change the facts.

Good point shoot the coyotes and you will have your study done.
Keeping shooting them and see if the number of deer raise.

"I have found if you go the extra mile it's Never crowded".
>[Font][Font color = "green"]Life member of
>the MM green signature club.[font/]

My two problems with it...how much unneeded stress is the fawn and doe going to be put under for the netting and collars and implant??? The other is what's been stated. Why not kill the yotes when they are captured to collar as well??? Coyotes aren't the only problem but dragging this out with a study only prolongs the problem. At least they are Being pro active.
I just wish we could use common sense instead of making everything a huge process.

Traditional >>>------->

I'm a grad student at USU in the natural resource department. I can tell you that the "academics" do not believe that coyotes are the problem. They think that we are just a bunch of hillbillys who don't know any better.

A study will probably be a good thing to prove (or I guess disprove) our opinions.

There have been a lot of comments in many threads relative to perceived competence of biologists. It seems that the further the academics get away from field work, the less competent they are to make decisions relative to the field. Often decisions are made by those who have not been in the field for some time. Some of the best stuff I've read (relative to wildlife) are in master's theses and doctoral dissertations. They tend to be based on actual in the field observations and held to stringent standards relative to validity and reliability.

All I ask is that the collars for the coyotes be a bright and vibrant color easily seen in the wild for "observation". And the frequency codes be posted.

"Helping turn good tags, into great ones." - www.vipoptics.com