UT Nine Mile, Anthro Pronghorn

W

WhiskeyMan

Howdy folks,

Found out today that I drew this rifle tag as a non-res. Credit card hit of $288. This is my fifth Utah pronghorn tag in a dozen years. Three were conservation tags.......two were drawn. Got some good bucks.

Looking for a biggun, which this unit has produced in the past. Looking for an 80"+ buck on public land in this unit. Is anyone willing to share their knowledge of this unit? PM's are welcomed.

Is there any particular area(s) where most of the goats live? How has the winter been and how are the numbers these days and has there been any winterkill the last few years?

How has trophy quality been recently? Are there 80"+ bucks in the unit? Where would you hunt for this caliber of buck?

Thanks in advance for your help.......I appreciate it.

WM

Whiskey,
I hope you have received some PM's in response to your request. This is one of the few units in which I have zero knowledge so I can't help. Someone step up...WM has given out tons of advice when asked.

I work south of Myton, and have seen more Antelope this spring, than I have for a long time. Have helped kill a couple of 80+ in. bucks in the past. I haven't seen anything that big yet this year. If I see something good, I let you know. BacDoc

Sorry. I am not familiar with that area either. I am sure a search would pull up some names though. I remember reading about a Father and Son hunt on that unit last year. They both shot respectable goats too.

"Half of being smart, is knowing what you're dumb about."

Thanks for your input, Dudes.

Can anyone comment on how this past winter was in that SW portion of the Basin? How would you rate the cold, snowpack, and lateness of this winter on a scale of 1 to 10.......with 10 being a nightmare?