UT EXTENDED DEER

huntinguy

I'm intrigued by this idea of hunting deer during the rut. Although I fully anticipate taking a deer during the general rifle hunt in Southern Utah next week I have to admit it would be cool to fling arrows during Novemer along the front at some deer during the rut.

So here are my thoughts/questions. I have heard that the extended archery hunt requires a tireless effort of lots of hiking which is fine. So when do deer rut? Who has done the extended before and how has it gone? Do you run into wildlife activists being that close to the cities?

This sounds like a cool hunt. Post some pics of past successes!

What tag do you have? Most people who hunt the Wasatch Front don't hunt the rifle hunt... they have archery tags.

I went out yesterday morning and saw 17 doe no bucks. It was fun. It is my first year hunting the extended hunt as well and I hope to learn from it. It was odd hunting with a bow in the cooler weather rather than when it is super hot.

Just watch out so you don't end up in some guys yard, there are houses on the Front that you don't know are there until you walk up to them.

Dillon

Dedicated hunters can hunt the wasatch extended. So as a dedicated hunter i hunt bow muzzy and rifle and then also extended. So im guessin he has a dedicated hunter permit. A ruttin buck with a fat ole neck chasin does is fun but at the same time the front can kill someone physically. Be tough grit your teeth and keep your nose on the deer trail you will find em.

LAST EDITED ON Oct-16-10 AT 12:53PM (MST)[p]Yep I'm in the dedicated hunter program. Why are the hiking conditions worse than any other mountain ranges? Just wondering as I have never hunted this area before. Have hunted the Uintah's which are behind the front.

It is very steep, with no roads to the top. You are going to have to hike 2-3 miles to get into deer, all up hill. It is very doable.

Good luck