unit 28 late archery

T

Trophysearch

just wondering what some of your thoughts may be on this unit, I'm a utah resident just wonder if it's worth the long trip but trying to use my tag to the fullest this year.

I wouldn't waste your time. I've been up there a couple of times and its a pretty tough hunt. A lot of the unit is tough to access because of the river and lack of roads. The river is tough to wade across because it usually has ice on the banks, because it is ridiculously cold up there. One year it was -10 to 0 most of the time and I actually mercy killed a fawn that was frozen to the ice and near death after attempting to swim across the river. She was completely white with frost and was definately there overnight if not two nights, chitty way to go.

Its pretty tough, good luck if you go, bring arctic gear and be careful.

Your non-res tag is good for cougars right? I think you'd make better use of you tag trying to find someone who wants to run some dogs and pick up a wolf tag while you are at it. Just a thought. Idaho has huge cats and plenty of wolves. Maybe we should change it from the Gem state to the predator state.

That's not a bad idea not much of a cat hunter, is that state wide or just in the units open to my archery tag i can't seem to find any info that detailed in the proclamaition

Page 74:

"Nonresident deer tags, excluding Nonresident Junior
Mentored deer tags, are valid to take a black bear or
mountain lion, if a season is open for that species, instead of
a deer where and when the deer tag is valid, and there is an
open deer season in that same unit."

Tom Keegan
IDFG Salmon Region Wildlife Manager