Tri-Pod recommendations

M

madmike8659

I would like some recommendation for a good spotting scope tri-pod. I have zero knowledge of tri-pods. Know a few names but have no idea what to look for in one and what I can expect to pay.

I bought a Slik Pro with a 3 way Panhead last year from Amazon. It was $100 and is worth every penny. Others I was looking at were around the $300 price range.....

Do you want lightweight for packing with a light scope in your pack or a back seat setup for short hikes to a lookout point with a big scope or bino?

There are some that will work for both but you may compromise sturdy for weight or vice versa unless you pay top price IMO.

Bill

Kill the buck that makes YOU happy!

Not likely to backpack in any more. More a good stable platform. I have the Nikon Prostaff 20-60X so it a heavy scope.

I have the Manfrotto tripod and fluid head. The head is the 128 RC and I think the tripod is model 055 XB Pro I am pretty sure.

The same fluid head is for sale in the classified section on page 4 if it's not sold, for 75 bucks which is almost half price, camera and probably has both.

The tripod is heavy but VERY STURDY, I think a guy could find a lighter one that is sturdy enough maybe even the next size down Manfrotto. They have carbon fiber models but they are at least double the money or more in the same brand and size.

Be prepared they are not cheap. But well worth it IMO.

Bill

Last year I was going threw the same thing as you. I decided on the Vortex cbx-128 tripod kit and love it. It has a manfrotto fluid head and carbon fiber legs. It holds my razor w/ my camera hanging off the back great.
I also have the Nikon prostaff kit w/ tripod. Its ok,but not strong enough to hold the weight of my razor.
The Nikon tripod is better for packing but no good enough to hold everything steady. So I strap my big tripod on the outside of my pack and my razor goes inside.