Trailer trouble

S

star

Well..was out for a hunt this past week-end only to have my travel trailer batteries that wont charge on a Nash 03 22H.I got 2 new Inerstate batteries.lasted a few days fully charged ..& wont charge w/ the generator ..have a 1 yr. old inverter replaced..but Im puzzeled..why wont the lights perk up when I pluged in the generator 110???

I'm no expert. My dad had a similiar problem this year with his trailer. If the generator is an on board generator there is a box behind it that has to be plugged in to get the power to the trailer. Somehow it got unplugged. Hope that helps.
Traditional only >>>------->

LAST EDITED ON Dec-07-10 AT 08:27PM (MST)[p]I'm always asking for help when it comes to wires. As my brother-in-law always tells me, "Do you have a meter? Follow the wires and check where the power ends. You will find the problem." Then he pulls out his meter, finds the problem, and fixes it. It's great to have someone around that is smarter than I am.

LAST EDITED ON Dec-08-10 AT 06:41AM (MST)[p]Most Inverters that are replaced only have/had one thing wrong with them,a 2.99 Slow-Blow Fuse,check the Fuse with a Meter after you pull it out,more than likely it's not a Fuse you can inspect with your eyes & tell if it's any good!

Take a cheap 12 volt Meter & check voltage coming out of the Inverter with generator off & then check with generator on!

You''ve got:

A bad Inverter/blowed Fuse!

Or!

A bad Wire!

Or

A/some Loose Wires!

Or!

Make sure the Extension Cord running from your generator to your Trailer is good!

Or!

Make sure the Generator itself is Throwing 120 volts!(Just cuzz it's running doesn't mean it's generating power!)

Or!

Some Bad/Dirty connections some where!

With the generator running,when you plug the power cord in to your trailer,Do you hear the relay snap(close) in the Inverter?

If all checks good I'd surely check the ground wire,alot of ground wires they put on camp trailers are not very heavy & poorly installed!