tailgate issues - need advice

ramtagless

I have noticed some guys have offered great advice in regards to truck problems. So to all the professionals and shade trees ? please help.

Short story long. (you will soon notice I am not a mechanic)

I have a 98 ? ton Silverado with 190K on it and the ol? girl needs to get me through a couple more hunting seasons. (among other things) the tailgate is broke.

I took the handle apart and the clippy things that hold the rods to the handle mechanism are broke. Fixed those with duct tape. The handle cover is broke because I broke that taking it apart. I have to hold the handle in the open position and use my finger to put the left latch thing in the right position to close the tailgate (and it still takes exactly two real hard trys to get the tailgate closed). And occasionally going down the road the tailgate flops open.

I can find the tailgate handle and bezel on line. I cannot find the whole shootin match online. Any ideas on where to find the entire mechanism (handle, bezel, connecting rod, cables and side latches)?

Thanks in advance for the help?.Andy

ps?any general advice on plugs and plug wires? (more expensive stuff worth the money?)

I'm not a mechanic either, but I've had no less than 7 chevy's with the same tailgate latch problem.

The connecting rods seem to stretch, then they won't open the latch unless you reach inside and pull them with your fingers.

I found that I can cut the end off the rod a little bit and rebend it to fit back in the handle. It will then open the latch without reaching inside the little square hole.

I don't know where to buy the parts, but that little idea seemed to work everytime for me.

Have you tried the local junk yards...pull-a-part...etc....???

horsepoop.gif

Disclaimer: