Stone Sheep Mount????????

A

archeryelk

If you have pictures you could post I would really appreciate it.

I looked at my mount for the 1st time Saturday and was shocked. I am not an expert but would love to have something to compare with.

Archer

Not really excited. I expected it to be WOW.

I am NOT an expect but just wanted some pictures to compare.

Archer

A stone sheep is a beautiful animal. If the taxidermist consistently produces "wow" work, and yours didn't reach that mark, I'd talk to him about it. Sometimes we build up things in our minds that look one way, and when it looks different we just don't like it. Sometimes you have to look at it for awhile to appreciate it. Do you have any pics of it?

I am hoping you are right. I will post pictures later.

Bottom line is there is not much you can do after tanning and then it being on the form a month. Nothing major that is.

Archer

I had a similar situation with my Rocky. When I dropped it off, I told the guy working there what I wanted - wall pedistal - and I specifically told him to not tip the head down like a pronghorn that was there.

And you can guess what it looked like when I picked it up. I took it home and put it on the wall. My ram is a 3/4 curl and when you tip the head down, it makes it look like a 5/8 curl ram.

After a couple of weeks, I couldn't take it anymore and took it back. I told the owner the flaws I saw in the mount and he said "What do you expect? It's not a competition piece".

They were able to soak the hide off, tip the head up (too far this time) and then put it back together. It came out ok, but it isn't exactly how I wanted it.

If you are going to take back, you probably should do it soon....

I have not picked it up YET. I have talked to him several times about it.

Looking for pictures to explain what looks wrong.

Archer

Here's my desert. I really like the detail in the face. This mount is almost 12 years old and has aged well.

46d47a27028e13ea.jpg