Show Hogs....

TripleK

Long Time Member
Anyone here ever show hogs in a county fair or stock show? This is my son's first year and we chose a hog to raise and show. Our hog is named Boss Hog and I think he'll do well, but getting him ready and there is going to be a real treat.

Next week is hog bathing and shaving week and boy I can't wait. LOL (dripping with sarcasm here) If it's anything like loading this bad boy when we picked him up...OMHell I don't even want to attempt it. I've never heard an animal make that much noise. Any tips from BTDT experts? (BTDT=been there done that)

Jenn

LAST EDITED ON Jul-25-07 AT 03:30PM (MST)[p]TripleK,

A few years back I was an Agriculture teacher and got to do all this fun for a living. The easiest way to accomplish your goal is by not trying to force the hog to do what you want but accomplish the task by allowing the hog to do what it wants. Now it's not all that easy.

When you first start clipping the hog make sure he is a little hungry and feed him in a shallow pan. You can clip most of the pig before he decides not to eat any more. For the final spots you may have to put a rope around his snout and tie it to something solid. Have ear plugs available.

Washing is just plain fun for the hog and you shouldn't have problems there.

LAST EDITED ON Jul-25-07 AT 03:58PM (MST)[p]Thanks! His hog is black so do I clip it close, shave it completely or leave it a bit long? I was thinking I'd clip it pretty close and shine him up w/pig shine stuff. The pink pigs look awful if they're shaved completely down but the black hogs looked pretty good. The judge at a fitting and showing we watched in June said to shave them about a month before the show to let some grow back for a more natural look, but those black hogs sure did look good even being completely shaved. I know it depends aloton what the judge likes.