Score this one-NM today

JFWRC

Very Active Member
I think the photos of this guy will give you enough to make a decent guess......

Is this one a shooter?

4854958411a3ae17.jpg

JFW,

Great pictures of a great goat! Now those are some prongs to get excited about!

I am no scoring pro, but would like to take a stab at it. I am going to give hime 82-83?

LAST EDITED ON Jun-14-08 AT 10:58PM (MST)[p]...after another look, the hooks may get him up to 84?

Lets hear more guesses!?!?

Can I ask what part of NM you are in JFW? You sure shoot/get pics of dandy goats. They on your leases? Maybe one day I will need to get a LO tag from you?;-)

Been a while since I had to judge goats but I need to refresh myself after drawing a NV tag. My guess is 16 1/4", good mass all the way up= 81"-83". The one on my wall is 79" so I'd pull the trigger on this one. Not a goat meat fan so the one I take this year will have to be better than my previous best.

LAST EDITED ON Jun-15-08 AT 07:03AM (MST)[p]I'm liking what you guys are saying. I thought he looked pretty good 2.

KTC-I live in Albuquerque. We have a few places we lease. Unfortunately this buck was not on 1 of them. We also apply folks into public areas. I'm think the LO permits on this place are pretty high. I will be talking to the owners soon.

Jimbo

Beautiful looking buck, but I don't see him over 77-78. Good paddles, but low on the horn, average mass, 14.5 length.

LAST EDITED ON Jun-15-08 AT 10:14AM (MST)[p]Yeah I think in the year the pic was taken the buck should score around 77 or 78. He has better length than you want to credit because of the way his horns roll back great cutters also.Hard to tell for this year, goats can downsize pretty fast when they reach their full potential. Usually only one year on top is all they got. If he grew- well thats a different story. That buck would probably be a book buck
travis