Question for you horsemen?

justr_86

Long Time Member
I helped pack out a fellow mm'ers elk last night, he will post pictures and the story soon.

How do you get a horse to let you put the horns and cape on him? I couldn't get within 20 feet of him with the head. He didn't have a problem whatsoever with the meat. I put the head on a frame pack and followed him but when I would get close he would walk down the trail sideways. Any suggestions? The head and cape was a heavy SOB! I don't wanna pack it if I have a horse!

4b1db2ac644136c4.jpg

I don't know the answer to your horse question, but it sure was nice of you to help out a friend like that. Very well done justr_86!

Eel

well i'm no expert- by no means-, but i spent a little time packing horses and mules. it starts at your house, get him used to it before it's crunch time.
some horses and mules dont do well with the smell of dead animals. so an old trick is to take Vicks vapor rub, rub some in their nose and they cant smell "dead".

if it was just the cape, i'd say the smell was probably the problem, but with the antlers, it could be similer to waiving your arms behind a horse unexpectedly, they can be jumpy. thats where you could find a rack at your house to get him used to it. they also make "blinder" like they use on race horses. if they cant smell it or see it you shouldn't have a problem.

one more trick that you might have done or already know, mut a stick under the main beams of the bull , with the "tines" up. it's imortant they are poking the horse, kinda like spurs.

in the end, the more they do it, the better they will get.

LAST EDITED ON Sep-12-10 AT 11:37AM (MST)[p]A couple weeks ago he let me pick up a spikex2 elk skull off an anthill without any problems. This bull was not a spikex2 (330-340 class) and it was fresh. Maybe I will try the vicks trick.

Thanks EEL.

4b1db2ac644136c4.jpg