Question about bighorns....

O

OKbow87

In the last week for some reason I have gotten the urge to go on a sheep hunt. I live in Oklahoma and have only been on one western hunt, which was a muley hunt in a pretty much guaranteed draw unit in Wyoming. My question is where do you guys think the fastest place to draw would be, and where would you guys say the best place to apply for a trophy hunt would be. So far in my research it looks like the Missouri River breaks in Montana are kinda the cats meow... but I'm sure it would take nearly a lifetime to draw a tag. I am also not ruling out canada or any of the other subspecies like desert bighorns. Anyway I really appreciate any info you guys can give me. Like I said though I am new to this whole western hunt application process so its really hard for me to decifer the regs that these states post on their website and how exactly the draw process will go. It looks like I'm looking at atleast a 5 year minimum before it will even be possible. Thanks again for your help in advance.

Colin

Drawing a sheep tag and 'fast' do not go hand in hand.

If you're serrious about hunting sheep, put in for every state that offers tags, apply for the best units "odds wise" and be prepared to cough up some serrious coin every spring, and just maybe in the next 15 years you'll pull a tag, but I doubt it. The odds of a NR drawing any LE unit in any state is astronomical... Like 1-100 if you're lucky.

Actually MT has a couple unlimited units where anyone that applys gets a tag, but your odds of killing a sheep in those units on your own is extreamly low. One unit used to get about 150 hunters and 1-3 sheep would be killed each year. BUT you're sheep hunting.

ID has a couple units with great odds for NR, BUT its extreamly difficult terrain and success is very low.