Provo Peak Goat Tag ?

B

barnesgrunt

Well fellas, looks like I finally drew my goat tag. This has been on my list of dream trophies for a very long time. So heres my Question, Does anyone know where i can find some info on field judging goats. I've been told 8" horns are kinda on the small side, and 10"+ horns would be a monster. Honestly I'll be happy with whatever I drop the hammer on, but when the difference between a good goat and a great goat is about 2 inches I was womdering if there is some way to reference the size.
Any help appreciated.

I agree there is little room for error. I hear the only way to tell is once they are on the ground. How many points did you draw with?

Dillon

Congrats on your tag. I've been putting in for 11 years and hope to draw a goat tag soon. I've been asking the same question of others. Do a google search for Duncan Gilchrist. He has a book with goat field judging info as well as a DVD that touches on the topic. Some other tips are to look at the body size. A swayed back with a pronounced hump and good round belly will tell you a lot about how old the goat is. Looking for a horse face is helpful but sometimes can be misleading. Go to Cabelas and other places with mounts. Learn what a mature billy looks like mounted. I'm excited for you and wish you best of luck on a mature billy.

honestly all you have to do is get off the couch hit the hills and locate the goats. once you see a bunch of goats you can easily tell the difference between a goat and a good goat. you can tell a nanny and a billy. you can tell an imature billy and and a fully grown billy. all you need is experience looking at them. A friend of mine had a lone peak tag last year and at first we both sucked at scoring them. as the scounting went on all summer long it got a lot eaysier.