Point Building Successes

W

WhiskeyMan

Not be disagreeable, but there is another side to the "What states have you quit applying and building points in??" thread.

I have extensive experience and $$$!! in the western hunting points game, and overall its been worth it to me. Having said this.....it's also reached the point where it's no longer worth it in many cases.

I say we post some pics of our personal successes due to the point systems. In some cases it may be hard to tell if point building actually was instrumental in drawing the tag, but I say if it likely had an impact in drawing the tag........then post up some great animals. Here are some of mine.

Colorado unit 10 November 2000. Drew with 6 points as a res in this unit before the hype that wasn't due this unit.
5112000_colo_buck_1.jpg

Wyoming unit 26 in 1999. I built a few points as a resident and it would have taken years to draw. However, points move with you and the fact that I moved out of state and most non-res' during that time period didn't apply for moose let me draw this tag with only 4 or 5 points.
58641999_wy_moose_2.jpg

Utah Bookcliffs 2004 non-res. Building 8 points allowed me to draw one of the few non-res tags for the one and only late hunt (early November) that has been offered for this unit. This 185" buck was taken on public land and was an incredible 10.5 years old.
967104_utah_buck_4.jpg

I started applying in 10 different states 15 years ago. The best tags I drew were in the first few years even with few or no points, under the old rules. I'm not going to post photos since it's been so long I didn't have a digital camera back then! I did manage to draw something every year until the last 2 seasons when I drew nothing, despite 254 points. Thanks largely to SFW/Don Peay/UTDWR, Oregon, Maine & a few other point thieves.

Good thread! NICE BUCKS!

I have drawn:

NM oryx (got one neat hunt).

NM muzzy elk, got a good 6x6 (my first nice bull)

CO elk, 76, bow, got a P&Y 6x6