point advice

carterj16

That time of year, Im from Idaho and hunt here every year, I buy points in Wyoming for all 3 (deer elk and antelope). I also do Colorado deer. Im looking to add 1 more state or hunt to the point game.

Looking at Colorado elk

Looking at Utah because I can buy points for everything (deer, elk, sheep, Mnt goats)

looking at Nevada deer but not real hard.

Also thinking of just doing New Mexico deer/elk and hoping for the best.

Based on how long it takes to get decent tags and the cost what would you guys recommend. thanks

I have point in Utah, Wyoming (I am now a Wyoming resident so they don't work for deer, elk or lope),Colorado and Arizona. There are a few good elk hunts in Utah that can be had as NR with only a few points. New Mexico is goiing to be very tuff unless you use a guide. I would skip Colorado elk. I have 13 points and want out of that circus. I have also looked at Nevada but have not made the jump yet...
If it were me I would look to Utah elk or Arizona. With 6 to 8 points you have a shot at a decent hunt in both states.

The tough part about just getting into the game here in Utah is the point crawl you'll have to contend with... If you start putting in now for a tag that took 10 points to draw in 2011, you will not be in the bonus pool for probably 16-17 years... You can always get lucky of course, but if you are relying on luck, you may as well put in for the most prestigious units out there, not a lesser unit that took just 10 points to draw in 2011...

"Therefore, wo be unto him that is at ease in Zion!" 2 Ne. 28: 24

>That time of year, Im from
>Idaho and hunt here every
>year, I buy points in
>Wyoming for all 3 (deer
>elk and antelope). I also
>do Colorado deer. Im looking
>to add 1 more state
>or hunt to the point
>game.
>
>Looking at Colorado elk
>
>Looking at Utah because I can
>buy points for everything (deer,
>elk, sheep, Mnt goats)
>
>looking at Nevada deer but not
>real hard.
>
>Also thinking of just doing New