pistol accuracy

justr_86

Long Time Member
I got a springfield xdm 40. I'm a beginner pistol shooter at best, the best groups I can get at 20 yds is 5 shots in about a 6 inch group. Is that the best I can expect? or should the gun be able to do smaller groups? I haven't shot with someone experienced enough to do better than that yet. What's your experience?

I'm beginner at best....

4b1db2ac644136c4.jpg

juster..it is all in the wrists and trigger pull has to be smooth. Stay locked up on those wrists..could be the pistol.. could be you..Sometimes factory set trigger pulls just will not let you group much better especially if the pistol is new and not worn in a little. I do not have your setup but I am just giving you something to help.. no matter what brand pistol you are shooting...

To tighten groups you just need to put your time in target shooting. Lots of variables, type of bullets used, factory or reloads etc. Your grouping of 6 inches is good and a lot of guys would be happy with that grouping.
Try switching ammo brands and bullets to see what shoots best if you haven't already done that.

Have fun shoot'n...

Hopefully you will get a reply from someone that shoots that specific pistol.

)))).......>

The pistol is new with about 50 shots through it. I have shot ny dads smith and wesson 9mm a bit and his 357 mag revolver. My father in laws glock 40 also. All rounds totalling about 200-250... I love the gun, its really smooth and very little recoil. I'm just wondering if 6 inch groups are the norm or if 1 inch groups are possible? Pistols are really new to me.

4b1db2ac644136c4.jpg

justr, if you're aiming your pistol you're doing it all wrong.:) I shoot mine the same way Clint Eastwwod does. Clear leather and point! It's a lot more fun that way. But then most of my pistols are western style single action revolvers.

Eel