Pay Now, Hunt Later???

sageadvice

Long Time Member
I see where almost all Outfitters charge a huge booking fee and the rest due long before the hunt begins.

As a Licensed Construction Contractor, i would love to get all my funds for services rendered ahead of time but even though the thought is ludicrous, i fear that if that were to be the case, i might not always do the very best job possible in the best interests of my clients...get my drift?

Are you a guide-outfitter or a possible client and what are your thoughts?

Joey

Well sage,
Nothing wrong with getting a down/partial payment in todays world.
I think it's only good Business practice!
However,I'd never let a Full Payment play a part on my workmanship!
I think these guides are only protecting theirselves.

too many flakes in the hunting world....saying you'll be there with money in hand on the day of the hunt and actually showing up are 2 entirely different things.....

great post/pic, thanks for sharing

JB
497fc2397b939f19.jpg

I beleive that the booking fee is used to buy supplies that may have to be paid for ahead of time for "Your Place" at the camp.

Use a Fly In hunt as a example.

pay for the plane fuel, the food,Horse feed, ect that has to be bought ahead of time before you arrive at camp wether you show up or not that the outfitter can not get back, things that have to be paid for in advance.

That is my thought on the Booking Fee money. now the rest of the money should be paid when you show up at camp/airport/hotel when you meet up.

I'm limited to 10% down payment by law on acceptance of the contract!

I don't believe i would be tempted either but then again, i'm not everybody out there and there are many examples of people not receiving services that they paid for. Paying in full in no way protects the client. I'm just wondering why they are willing to do so when it is not common practice in many other business deals.

Joey

Flakes? Yes, i agree...