Out of State Hunting

H

HirschHunter

So, I'm sure I am way behind most of you guys here on the learning curve of out of State draws, but I was just curious to find out from other California guys what their out of State plans are...

IE: How many States do you guys put in for? and how many different species do you target? and how much money do you tie up in application fees for out of State draws?

I'm just getting started in out of State draws, and currently only have 1 point for elk and 1 point for deer in Wyoming. Next application "season" I am hoping to concentrate my efforts on Wyo, Arizona and Nevada.

welcome to m.m.
I put in for wy, az,Id,Ut,Co, mt, Or, nm,nv, on most all game. I draw 2-5 tags a year.
It took me a good 8-10 years to start pulling great tags, there is a few tricks , but mostly you have to do your time in the points system.
I have been wanting to do a over the counter whitetail hunt in Idaho at my brothers house for many years , but it never fales ,I draw something some where that conflicts the dates.
So theres many hunts to do even if you dont draw a controlled tag. Be flexable ,take a few risk and go for it.

A lot of it depends on what you want to do, your patience and your age. I'm 41 y/o and have been putting in for most western states for quite a while. For example I'm at 17 points for LE deer in UT, max in CA and WY, and in the teens for many other species in other states too.

Some hunts would be so hard to get at this point that it may not be worth it for you. A couple of examples would be AZ strip deer hunts and their early rifle elk hunts are two that I wouldn't go after if I was just starting out. Nearly all pronghorn hunts in AZ would be a wast of time too for someone just starting out. However, for only a few points you could have an incredible December Coues hunt in AZ.