One piece of advice?

sniper14

I love to hunt. I have been trying to do it for 20 years. In that time I have come to the realization that I am not very good at it. In 20 years I have never seen a bull elk during hunting season, and my deer hunting has been better but not by much. It seems everyone I know is successful but me. I always seem to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. If you were to give me some advise on how to better my success what would it be.

and slow down, get behind the glasses and use em. If you can't find or hear any elk in a couple days, move. Sometimes you gotta move 10 miles or more to find em.

Get out in the woods. Act like you have a tag even when you don't. Just spend as much time in the hunting environment as you can.

Get out before the sun comes up. Slow down. Keep the wind in your face. Apply for units with more animals, get out of your comfort zone!

LAST EDITED ON Oct-07-11 AT 10:03PM (MST)[p]Everyone's experience is different, of course. My hunting has always been be on public lands except for 3 CWMU tags I've drawn. On public land I've always had to do most of my hunting (scouting) at least 2 weeks (sometimes longer) before the season opens. I try to know where the animals I'm going to try to kill are the night before the season opens and then try to be as close as the wind and the noise will allow me to be when the season opens in the morning. Sometimes that means a long hike in the pitch black dark or a long night laying in the dirt trying to sleep and trying to keep warm. Sometimes I've even driven up to them in my vehicle, it just depends where I've put them to bed the night before.

Does it always work out, no, stuff happens over night. Other hunters move in. Weather conditions change. They smell you. They hear you. etc. etc. But, on average, over the 50 years I've been at it, putting them to bed gives you a better chance at finding them in the morning.