Nonres starting to collect preference points

BillyBoB

I've never hunted out of the state of Utah but would like to start collecting points to one day hunt in Wyoming. I'm in no rush and I'm willing to wait 5-10 years if I have to. Ive only hunted mule deer and that's my focus in Utah. But my question is, should I focus on elk or mule deer in Wyoming? Which species is easier to draw as a nonres? I'm hoping to harvest a 190 muledeer or a 350 bull. Can anyone give me some insight on this topic. I'm new to all this non resident stuff and just want to hear some opinions.

Thanks

Theodore Roosevelt's guidance concerning conservation...
"The movement for the conservation of wildlife, and the conservation of all our natural resources, are essentially democratic in spirit,purpose and method."

"We do not intend that our natural resources shall be exploited by the few against the interests of the majority. Our aim is to preserve our natural resources for the public as a whole, for the average man and the average woman who make up the body of the American people."

"It is in our power...to preserve game..and to give reasonable opportunities for the exercise of the skill of the hunter,whether he is or is not a man of means."

I think point purchase ends at the end of the month, so if you are thinking about it you better hurry. $50 for Elk and $40 for muledeer. Were you thinking DIY or guided.

DIY.
I know the deadline is close. I can see there is more people with preference points for elk than deer. My goal or dream is to harvest a huge muley. I've been collecting points in Utah while hunting general units. I haven't been able to reach my goal but I'm going to keep trying. Even if that means going out of state. I just want to give myself more options.
I'm not rich by any means so a guided hunt is alot less likely.
Thanks for your responses.

Theodore Roosevelt's guidance concerning conservation...