night fish

eelgrass

Long Time Member
I've been doing this for the past 35 years or so, but this is the first time I've taken a camera. It's one of my favorite things to do here on the north coast.

These surf smelt are called "night fish" because they only hit the beach during darkness on outgoing tides. They are smaller and much better eating than regular surf smelt that run in the day time.

I heard the fish were running yesterday so I called a couple buddies and we were off.

A view from the parking lot. That's Trinidad Head on the right with the trees. The ocean is about as calm as it gets around here. I also kayak fish around all those rocks too.

8147nightfishing_001.jpg

Down on the beach waiting for the tide to turn and for darkness to fall. It's a great time for a beer!:) You can see a few birds working in close (left). That's a great sign that fish are on the way.

1015nightfishing_002.jpg

After dark you can see the fish in the breakers if you shine a flashlight. Get to work guys!

1895nightfishing_006.jpg

This is my buddy Donnie. He had to work this morning, but that never stops him! The wave breaks into your net and you scoop them up. No fish on this dip.

3733nightfishing_007.jpg

After you get all you want, it's time to load the bucket. The limit is 25 lbs. but we're smarter than that now days. 10 lbs. or so is plenty to deal with. I caught these in two dips.

1136nightfishing_008.jpg

My super long time friend Norm. He's 70 and still going strong!

7316nightfishing_011.jpg

Get your wife to clean them:) roll them in corn meal and fry them until the tails are nice and crispy.

Good times, and even better friends!

Eel

You GUT Sardines?

I Thought you ate GUTS & All?

[font color="red"]From My Smokin Cherry Red Hot Barrel & My Dead Cold Hands I Shall go down Fighting for American Pride & Rights!