New to Idaho

scubasteven25

Just wanted to say hello being as I have been snooping around this section for a few months now. I just got stationed here at Mountain Home coming from New Mexico. I'm really looking forward to getting out in the woods this fall, just have to figure out a whole new draw system. Being as I am new to the area I am starting to look for some hunting partners. If anyone has any ideas or needs an extra hand with any hunting adventure, just let me know. I am always willing to learn something new. I do archery and rifle hunting. Thanks and keep the good stories coming. I attached a couple of pictures of some of my past hunting adventures.

Steven

NewMexicomuledeer2002.jpg

DSC01632.jpg

100_0073.jpg

100_0054.jpg

DSC00392.jpg

DSC00978.jpg

DSC03130.jpg

Welcome to Idaho.

The areas north of Mtn. Home were fantastic deer hunting areas 20 years ago. I grew up in the hills between Blacks Creek and Bennett Mountain.

As far as the draw system, the only thing you need to know is that unit 45 to the East of Highway 20 is a limited entry for deer and elk. The tags there are very hard to draw, but if you do, you will have a good chance at a nice buck/bull.

The unit west of Highway 20 is unit 39, easily the most widely hunted unit in the state. With that being said, there still are nice bucks taken every year in unit 39. Going North a bit you will run into units 43 and 44. 43 is a general tag and along with the northern parts of 39, is very rugged country and hunted heavily. (There are also a lot of bears in that higher country of 39/43). 44 is a draw, similar to 45 but higher country and the deer/elk migrate out during mid October.