new rifle scope

E

Elkcrzy1

So my new Remington Sendero 7 mag is on its way, Happy Fathers Day to me. I want to put a 4-14 scope on it, whats your thoughts guys ? I have a Burris on another rifle I really like it. Only other scope Ive owned was a Leupold which was ok.

Gary,

I have no experience with Burris, but I have never heard anything bad about their top lines. I have used Leupold extensively over the years, but have switched to Kahles and Swarovski glass over the last few years and have been very impressed!

Depending on how much you want to spend and the particular reticle or turret system you like, in the 4-14x range I would look at the Swarovski Z5 3.5-18x44 or the Zeiss Conquest 4.5-14x44.

The Swarovski has a great magnification range and if you like turret systems, you can get the BT, and then add a custom Outdoorsmans Ballistic Turret. They also have the BRX reticle if you prefer a ballistic reticle, or standard reticles. (I have the 3.5-18x44 with BRX on my .300 WIN and really like it.)

The Zeiss is a little heavier and has a ton of different reticle and turret options. It is also a little less expensive.

Call the guys at the Outdoorsmans (800-291-8065) because they may have a couple other options.

Another note: my brother needed a new scope and due to finances, he decided to borrow a Leupold VX-III 4.5-14x44 that I was not using. I believe he decided to add the CDS turret. Give him a call... I'm sure you have his number!

Good Luck and Happy Father's Day!

-----
Trent Swanson
Western Hunter Magazine
www.westernhuntermagazine.net
Outdoorsmans
www.outdoorsmans.com
Wilderness Athlete
www.wildernessathlete.com

Thanks Trent !! Long time no see ! I talked to your brother about a week ago and hes coming to Colorado and getting together for dinner one night so I'll ask him about it then. Thanks again, Gary

Just looked up Kahles scopes,,,,,Dang !! Did you forget Im a poor mechanic ? LOL