my son has croup..advise?

W

whiskeybent

LAST EDITED ON May-08-11 AT 08:38PM (MST)[p]I know it's not super serious. But it breaks my heart. He's my first born so I'm new to all this... he's sporting a fever has a ton of flem and kind of weezes to breath and a cough that sounds like a 10 year old St Bernard bark! He's been to the doc and been given a steroid. Just wondering if anybody had any tricks to help him breath better

D13r my spelling and punctuation sucks.. Just in case you read this. Sorry

It is horrible to see your little ones suffer and know there is not much you can do about it. The steroids will help open up his airways and antibiotics will help keep him from getting any secondary bacterial infections. Humidifiers and Vicks Vapor Rub are standard treatment as well. There will always be people who will debate their effectiveness but at the very least they provide comfort so they build up the soul as much as the body. Just hold him tight and help his momma as much as you can.

UTROY
Proverbs 21:19 (why I hunt!)

LAST EDITED ON May-08-11 AT 08:56PM (MST)[p]He wasn't prescribed any antibiotics from the doc? Did the oral steroid have antibiotic in With it maybe?

Whiskey, at work we use a cool aerosol to relieve and sooth irritated airways and bronchodilators to open up constricted air passages. The steroids you speak of are meant to reduce the swelling and inflammation of the airways.
The harsh, barking cough is the result of the airways being inflamed and swollen and the wheezing the result of airways being constricted and /or filled with thick phlegm.
You may want to use a voporizer to deliver a cool mist to the face if possible. But, inquire 1st with his MD if this is desirable. Ask also about the practicality of home given bronchodilators like albuterol via an electrically powered mini air compressor called a Pro Neb.
It's simply waiting out this illness. Keep a watch for increased shortness of breath and other signs of respiratory distress.