Mountain Goat HELP!

K

ktc

Can the experienced mountain goat guys pass on some field judging tips, identifying male and female tips, mountain goat habits, and the best books/DVD's to help answer these questions? Any info i need to know or help identify a top end goat? I am a rookie and I cannot blow this chance.

I have some experience watching goats but I am far from any kind of expert. Thanks.....

PleaseDear I appreciate your help!

I am not an expert by any means. I do know that all the Billy's I have seen while hunting and not hunting are considerably larger than the nannies. I was told only billies have the block shock mount looking piece around the base of the horns. Billies horns will curve back where the nanny will be straighter. Billy will have mass, nanny will have very little mass. In my opinion the hide is as important if not more important than the horns. Short haired goats are much less appealing than a long haired billy. I know that the billy will be yellow in color as well.

With all the fur my billie had, you wouldn't have seen a sack unless he was setting on yer face. Then you coulda said you were teabagged!

My opinion, look at the bases...you will know a billy when you see it.

Best of luck and I can't wait to hear about the hunt.

Now if you want to know the difference between an 8.5 and a 10, I couldn't do it.

Wait until good hair and enjoy...nothing like goat country.

Mtnmiller speaks the truth. I had Myles Bradford tell the same thing about not being able to tell the difference between a 8.5 and a 10 incher. This is a guy who has guided goats for over 30 years.

I have a few older Duncan Gilchrist books on Mtn. Goat hunting. Let me see if I can find them among the moving boxes. If I do, I'll see about mailing them to you.

dw,