Most popular caliber (after 30-06) big game

DonVathome

Very Active Member
What is the most popular caliber after the 30-06 for big game? I am looking to buy a new rifle and one thing that is important is the ease of finding ammo for sale.

I am leaning towards a 300 magnum.

My guess is the most popular caliber after 30-06 is the 300 or maybe a 270?

Your thoughts?

I am no gun expert but I would say the 300 winchester magnum or 300wsm. They are a great all around gun that can be used successfully on any NA big game animal. Plus the ammo is easy to find for me, Sportsmans always has a bunch of 300 wsm on the shelves.
270 is very popular but if you ever want to go after moose or grizzlies, it is a little under powered. Yes it will work for them but not ideal.

Mntman

"Hunting is where you prove yourself"

Let me guess, you drive a 1 ton with oak trees for smoke stacks, 12" lift kit and 40" tires to pull a single place lawn mower trailer? See Zeke for prime example....

For many years I think the 270 was next in line to the 06, due to Jack O'Connor's influence, but I think the 7mm Rem Mag has probably surpassed the 270 in popularity.
The 300 Win Mag is also right up there, but I think most all the popular calibers have plenty of off the shelf ammo.
A 300 Win is not going to be a lot different than your 06, so if it were me, I would try a smaller caliber. IMHO

more 223 ammo sold than anything (excluding 22LR). :)

I would go with the 7 mag or 300 mag...no way the WSM fits into this conversation.

270 is great too...for some reason I always think stronger when someone asks about a new gun; seems like most looking for another gun are going Magnum. 270 will be the cheapest for sure. (ammo that is)

I love talking guns, cartridges and calibers. This thread is about cartridges though, not "calibers"!

The 30-06, 308 Winchester and the 300 Winchester mag., for instance, are all the SAME CALIBER yet they are very different cartridges or chamberings!

Thanks!