Middle Fork Zone for Elk

M

MarshallBill5

This is my first year living and hunting in Idaho. Have heard this is a decent general season tag to get. I was just wondering about access in this zone particularly the area around Yellow Pine. I am just looking for something to fill the freezer this year as most of my time has been spent scouting and looking for deer for my Nevada Muzzleloader tag, and helping my hunting buddy scout for his Nevada Elk tag. I have been into back pack hunting for the last several years so putting miles on to get somewhere and then putting multiple trips to get an animal out is not an issue. That type of hunting is what I would like to do here in Idaho. This area is just something that some guys I work with mentioned. Been looking at it here and there and was just wondering what people on here thought about it.

That "B" tag has some of the best general seasons in the state. You get to hunt the rut with a rifle from Sep 15 - 30th and it re opens again from November 1st - around the 20th I think. I wouldn't bother with that tag this year though, you already missed the rut and your pre hunt scouting now wouldnt help you much for a November hunt this Fall.

With that being said, it's extremely tough hunting. I hunted out of Big Creek 3 fall's ago in units 20A and 26. We saw a few cows after a week for doing 6 miles a day. That's a gnarly 6 miles. It is HUGE country. Much bigger than anything that I've hiked in units 39, 32 and the sawtooth zone, and I've done my fair share of backpacking around this state. You hike up to one bluff, bugle, and if you don't get a response your looking at a couple hours hike to get to another bluff or drainage to bugle again. By that time your morning is over.