Magnum!!! Private or Public?

C

calibuckill

I am new to the MM forum and i love the info available. I love to hunt the DIY way on public land and have been planning on hunting region G or H via backpacking. I just read about the deer they call Magnum taken by Nontypical outfitters and all I can say is wow. Robb Wiley does an incredible job of killing at least 2-3 monsters every year. Congrats to Mr. RObb Wiley!!! I was even more excited to read that it was killed on Public Land. My excitement was quickly shot down by a local contact in western wyoming that told me that Nontypical Outfitters paid around 30,000 dollars to a landowner to take this buck. So if anybody can help out with this claim let it be heard.

LAST EDITED ON Jan-28-12 AT 02:43PM (MST)[p]Let me guess, Since you seen a deer like magnum come out of G you think man I can go kill a big deer in region G. Well I am here to tell you that if you want to have a quality deer hunt in the high country backpack style region G and H in western wyoming is not the place to do it. The entire area lost 60% to 70% of the deer to the harsh winter last year. And there wasn't alot of deer to begin with the entire western side of the state has been in bad shape for a long time last winter finally ruined it. Not to mention you will see more people hunting than you will see bucks. It doesnt matter how far you go in or how high you go there will be alot of hunters in every basin and if there is a shooter buck around there will be alot and i mean alot of different guys after that one buck. Take my advice if you want to have a fun backpack hunt in the high country with the chance at a good buck go to colorado because you wont have a chance at one in region G or H trust me.

SSakitas, have you considered moving to Colorado? You sure seem to hate Western Wyoming. Really man, your negativity is getting old.