Lots of turkey this year

6x7

Very Active Member
Woods this year were full of birds hears my last bird I got this morning.
5973image.jpg

I've been hunting turkeys here in California since the late 1970s, and I think the populations now may be the best ever. For a lot of years, we didn't have big numbers of turkeys but good hunting could be found on the right properties, mostly private ranches in the foothills. Now, there are birds nearly everywhere in this state, at least in habitat that will hold turkeys.

I took 4 hunters out for birds this year, including one youth hunter during the early season. All of them had shooting opportunities, though not all of them capitalized on their chance. I finally went out for myself yesterday for the only time this season, and shot a nice longbeard that I'd put two of my guest hunters on, but neither had succeeded in killing him. He was a wise bird, I never heard him gobble on the roost one single time all season, though we saw him regularly and he always roosted in the same huge cottonwood. There were about 1/2 dozen different birds gobbling from the roost yesterday ,but he stayed silent. He never made a peep, even after flying down. When he flew down yesterday, he glided by me at about 10 yards and landed 20 yards away. I let him be for about five minutes, waiting to see if he had a partner but he was alone and when he approached my decoy I decided to take him home with me. It was a very nice way to end what was a wonderful spring turkey season.

>I've seen a ton as well!
> Just don't have any
>interest in hunting them.

If you have ever hunted elk in the rut, called in bulls screaming.
Well turkey hunting is like that only on a smaller scale.
I said the same thing a while back.
Call in a few big toms, give it a try. it will make you a better hunter.