LE Turtle Tag?

C

ClorideRUS

I drew a LE archery turtle tag in Tennessee. I was just wondering if anyone knew where I might start looking. I don't want your honey hole or anything just some general directions.

Also, what is the best shot placement on a trophy class bull turtle?

I haven't figured out how to post pictures yet. I have some really nice bull turtle shell sheds I picked behind Cabelas. Any help will be appreciated.

SUDDENLY ?????..

RUS

I've been applying for the Eastern region for quite a few years now. The quality turtles seem to be in the East. I'm hoping next year will be the year...I've got 7 points.

Steve

LAST EDITED ON May-10-08 AT 10:23PM (MST)[p]Best shot is right in the pectoral fin, you must use a .257 Roberts.
Any other shot placement/caliber will result in an emediate headlong charge, usually resulting in an al-goreing.

RUS, an archery turtle hunt in Tennesse is very tricky! They have eye sight that is twice as good as Pronghorns, and can actually run faster over a longer distance than Pronghorns.

Your best bet is to either bait them or use decoys and calls.

Just a word about camouflage. Archers use camo for turkey, deer, and elk hunting as we all know. If a turkey, deer, or elk spot you they usually high tail it out of there and the hunt is over. With turtles it's a little different. You wear camouflage so the turtle doesn't see you, but not because the turtle will run away. If a turtle spots you it usually results in an all out charge. An all out charge is not something an archer usually survives. So pick out your camo like your life depends on it.

The biggest turtles in Tennessee are currently found along the Tennesse River close to the Alabama border. The new State archery record was taken there in 2006 by a hunter named Bubba Johnston. Bubba is a cousin of mine. If you like I can give you his address. He doesn't have a phone or computer though.

Good luck!

Eel

how many points did you have?
get a biggin!