Interesting hunt

GotBowAz

Very Active Member
I thought I would share a little campfire story of a 9 day hunt I was recently on. It was very exciting for me to say the least. From August 22nd to 30th. I will break this up in sections so it won't be such a long read. I will try to keep it short but soooo many things happened in this short amount of time I only hope I can keep it cut down.

I am hunting OTC archery here in Arizona for High dessert Mulley?s and or Coues whitetails. The area I have been hunting for a few years I have seen decent bucks of both species just a few miles apart from one another. I have never arrowed either and thanks to the people here on MM I have learned a lot but still can't seem to seal the deal. 1st couple days I am in a make shift ground blind by a water hole. I have a Doe and twin fawns still with spots come in to water around 2pm every day. The twins swim in the water while mom drinks her fill, very cool to see and I am very happy to see twins. Following morning I have a 3 point buck come into water but he is straight away from me and keeps looking in my direction. I ranged him at 87 yards and hoped he would move my way after his drink. Then out of the corner of my eye a fork horn came from behind me to my left and went right to the water without missing a beat. He was straight away from me but only 40 yards out. At this point I am calm and just waiting and as I am waiting to see if either deer will give me a shot another HUGE 4X4 with at least 3 inch eye guards came in. He is at my pre-ranged 20 yard mark and moving. I draw, find a spot behind his shoulder and hold, he is now at my 30 yard mark so I grunt to stop him. He stops, I cant get over how BIG he is and I also cant keep the darn pin on the pocket. I have the shakes and I am falling apart. I have buck fever/target panic big time! I finally got the pin to hold and jerked the trigger. The arrow went directly under his chest. Needless to say off they went and yet another buck w