Installing Hardwood Floor

FamilyMan

Very Active Member
Anybody here installed a hardwood floor yourself? We need a new floor in our kitchen and are considering putting in pre-finished, full-thickness hardwood. I have put in snap-together laminate is some of the downstairs rooms, but have never done hardwood. Could save a lot of money doing it myself but don't know how difficult or what it would cost to rent one of those air-assist nailers.

Anybody want to share your experience?

Mark

It's not bad but you will need to rent the air hammer. I did my own kitchen and a few bathrooms. Let me know if you have any questions.

I'll give you the number to my contractor, they are very reasonable..........oh wait, I have a picture and the number is on the truck.

46e1f0a7673e5c1b.jpg

JB

If you've never done it then forget about it. You will want to throw tools through the window. I was an expert by the time I finished my downstairs........too late. Plan on spending 10 times the man hours you have in mind. Good luck.

Zigga
Your reply surprizes me because on the face of it it does not look that difficult. What were some of the things that made it so bad so that I can understand?
Mark

It's because he ain't very brite. It is really an easy job just tedious. Rent the airnailer. should be way less than $40 a day.

JB

we just bought a air nailer for 60 dollars so renting it for 40 seems kinda stupid to me. You never know when you can use it again

Don't use an air nailer. Rent a hammer and use staples. My buddy goes all over the country doing wood floors. And he and I did mine in my house. I did about three feet and he did the rest. You will take ten times longer than a pro , but will save a ton of cash.

The real hardwood floors are a pain in the ass and do take forever to lay down. The new prefab stuff locks and glues together quickly... these floors dont get nailed down but "float" on a felt layer.