How many years

M

maddglasser

How long have you been applying for a desert sheep tag? I have been applying for almost 20 yrs in my home state of Arizona! But I have guided 4 people that have ONLY applied 5 or less yrs and think it is easy!

This time around - ten years. This is my eleventh. I drew in 1986 after only 4 or 5 years. Then the ten year wait. Now I am ten years into the draw again. Of course I will beat he odds and draw my second desert tag this year. Hah! I doubt it but one can hope. I do know several who have drawn two and even one who drew three. And I know several who have drawn after only a couple of years. I guess that's why they call it luck of the draw.

I'd rather be lucky than good.

I drew a desert tag the first time I applied anywhere. 18 year dry hole ever since.

JB

Got lucky as a Nevada resident on my 11th try. Drew the tag in 2003, and have to wait until 2014 before I can apply again.

Still haven't drawn a Desert but have drawn 2 rocky tags two states.

I"m feeling a Desert Ram tag this year! ha

Utah or Nv. or ..gulp ARIZONA.... 'woody for a week' on the spot with that tag!

Robb

Some things are not fair in life and that is just the way it is! I have been putting in for Desert Sheep in my home state of Utah for 35 years, without success. I made the fatal mistake of missing putting in the first year of the bonus point system. That year I had a long awaited Caribou hunt already paid for and I was afraid I might draw a sheep tag and then not have the time I needed to get a sheep. That mistake put me behind about 8 years in the draw. I now have a 1 in 6 chance of drawing in the area I am putting in for. I will most likely draw within the next 5 or 6 years unless I die first, since I am now very near the top bonus points pool. But that will mean I have played this game for 40 years before finding success.