Good hunting location?

S

sti1471

LAST EDITED ON Oct-16-13 AT 10:05AM (MST)[p]Hello everyone. I want to start out by saying this is my first post on a hunting forum board. I live in Utah and I have been hunting for 18 years. I have always hunted with my family and now that I am 30 years old, I often find myself hunting solo. So I am trying to understand a few things that I have not been able to find solid answers to.

Sorry for the long post.

I am trying to locate a good spot for the deer hunting as the Utah Rifle hunt is this weekend (October 19th). I have found this spot which is about 600 yards from the nearest dirt road. I have some screenshots from Google earth of the place I plan to be sitting before sunrise on opening morning. I was hoping that some of you experts could fill in some of the blanks for me.

My plan: I plan to be sitting in the spot where the yellow pin is located in the photos. I am hoping to have a good view into the canyon below, as well as the east facing slope on the other side. I am hoping that deer will be either feeding on the east slope come sun-light, or they will be moving up the canyon floor below me. I am thinking that watching the east facing slope is the best choice to see deer feeding or moving across in the first morning hour. Here are my questions that maybe some of you can help me with.

1- I am not sure if this would be considered a Canyon, or a draw or what that I would be sitting on the edge of. Would you call this a canyon, a draw, or a wash?
7418spot.jpg

2- I have attached a picture of what it will look like at first sun at 7:18 a.m. The sun hits the hill facing east first and appears to be one of the first slopes hit in the area making it look like a good choice.
939spot2.jpg

3- It has snowed up there a little the last couple days, I think in 4 days it will be melted, but there has been some snow fall. I am not sure if this changes the direction of slope I should be glassing, but I feel that east is a good bet.