Gear for WY Elk DIY Hunt

B

Blazer

This is my first year elk hunting and would like to get an idea of what gear i should look at for a DIY bow hunt. Any recommendations as to boots, camo pattern / style (scent-lock or breathable), back pack, ect.. I have a friend going with me who has most of the gear for camp, but im looking for advise for gear while up in the mountain that will allow me to be comfortable and able to move quitly for spot and stalk.
Im an avid bow hunter for whitetail and turkey, but that is mainly done from a treestand/blind.
Thanks in advance

Don't skimp on boots or your pack. You'll spend many hours and miles using both of those. Probably will want a nice set of lightweight rain gear to keep with you. I use the heck out of my GPS as well. I'll spend an hour or two in the mornings hiking in the dark and it gives you the ability to go right to the spot you marked without worrying about getting lost.

Lots of other little things in my pack but those are the most important things I can think of.

For me camo pattern dosn't really matter. I like ASAT but scent is more important. I like breathable clothes because I always hike my butt off. A good GPS is huge and boots are always top on my list. I have a Badlands Diablo and that has worked great for me. I agree with good rain gear. I like elk nuts videos and I am sure they have helped. I have hunted elk archery for over 20 years and nothing will help more than time in the woods. You will make a lot of mistakes (I know I still do and so does everbody else I know). Have fun, always try and keep the wind in your face and be aggressive. Good luck

LAST EDITED ON Jan-26-11 AT 03:14PM (MST)[p]Just to clarify, I used to think "good" gear was $100 boots and a $100 backpack. Now I'm older and have more money and to me "good" gear is now $300 boots and a $300 backpack. The higher quality gear will pay for itself over the years though.

For boots look at Hanwag, Meindel, Kennetrek, Asolo, Lowa, to name a few.