free horse ?

nuts4bucks

so my wifes friend has a 14 year old buckskin mare that so can not afford to have anymore she said that she is a really mellow horse and her 12 year old daughter does gymkana with her she told my wife that we could have her if we wanted for free she comes with two saddles (not sure of thier sizes i will have to have bhwar size them for me ) and all of the tack. i have limited knowledge about horses i rode a little when i was younger and a few times on guided hunts my kids took riding lessons for 6 months over the last year and a half, i have three acres in witch to keep her we have three daughters that are 8,9 and 16 and they are bugging the chit out of me about this my question is if i have the time and money to take care of her would it be a good decision to get her and how much work is involved in the upkeep of a horse also how much per year does hay cost to feed one horse

I know a few people that have horses and from what I understand, they are like a kid. You have to tend to them everyday, have them shoed, brushed, blah blah blah. I will probably never own any horses because of what I know these other owners go through.....unless I win the lottery and I can afford to pay someone else to take care of them.

Steve

There can be as much or as little as you want to put into horses. They do require maint, but not like a child. Not all horses require shoes, it depends on what you are planning on using it for whether or not it will require shoes. If you are just going to ride around the house and pasture then just trimming will suffice. If you plan to travel and take your kids to shows and 4-h type stuff then I would reccomend getting them shod.