Fannin Vs. Stone

predator

Very Active Member
So I'm hearing that Stones are going out of this world in price, and I am really saddened by the fact that I may not be financially able to ever do a slam. Since I'm a novice to sheep (although PleaseDear has been helping me learn a whole bunch), I understand that Boone and Crockett recognize some fannin as Stones? What is the difference then?

I have a lifetime goal of a North American slam, but like I said they way things look, it might not be achievable.

Pred

a fannin is a stone. There are only two species of thin horns in north america. Dall and stone. One black hair anywhere on a thin horn sheep except the tail and it is a stone.

JB

Why worry about whether someone recognizes your grand slam? Come up north and shoot your Fannin ram and be happy you got the opportunity, many won't. Fannin's are beautiful sheep that live in beautiful country. Grand Slam? Who cares?

Although Boone and Crockett treats all Fannins as Stone's sheep (one black hair and it's a Stone's sheep), Grand Slam Club/Ovis now allows you to choose whether to treat a Fannin as a Stone's sheep or a Dall's sheep for the purposes of filling your Grand Slam.

I agree with joebuck, though - Stone's, Dall's and Fannins are all fantastic animals. Just hunt what makes you happy and don't worry about what anyone else says.

Boone & Crockett has nothing to do with the recognizing of a Grand Slam of North American Wild Sheep. The organization that keeps track of that, and certifies that they were all legally taken (this was a real problem years ago due to illegal Mexican permits), is Grand Slam Club / Ovis. You can see at http://www.wildsheep.org/pdf/grand_slam_form.pdf that a Fannin or a Stone either one is fine for a slam.