Exterier house paint

eelgrass

Long Time Member
My wife says it's time to paint the outside of the house. She wanted to hire it done, but I told her that money is already earmarked for gas during hunting season. So she is doing it herself. She is up on the ladder scraping and sanding as I type this.

Yeah, right!:)

I'll be doing it! The last time I painted (about 10-12 years ago) I used Benjamin Moore paint. At the time I thought it was a great paint. It has held up well. I've been out of the loop since then. So what is the best paint now days? Exterier latex. I'm going to stick to the same color, or close. Thanks!

Eel

Eel, Before becoming a plumber in the 80's, I was a painting contractor and still paint a couple every year for old customers. Maybe not the very best but good all around paint for the $$ is Kelly Moore's 1245. It has a rubbery consistancy to it, expands and contracts with swelling, so it holds up very well to the elements. Even up here in the snow country, you should get 10-15 years from a good job.

Joey

Eel

Spring for Sherman Williams paint. It might cost alot but then again you could brag to all your neighbors how much you spent on house paint. As far as myself I use Kelly Moore.

Ransom

I THOUGHT IT WAS SHERWIN WILLIAMS???

THIS IS MY NEW GUN,YOU MAY NOT LIKE IT,YOU'LL LIKE IT A HELL OF A LOT LESS WHEN IT HITS ITS DESTINATION!!!
47654abd5a8fd79a.jpg

469ff2b8110d7f4e.jpg

THE ONLY bobcat THAT KNOWS ALOT OF YOU HAVE HAD THIS IMAGE IN YOUR PEA BRAIN BUT DUE TO POOR SHOOTING TACTICS I'M STILL KICKIN!!!

If i was your wife.. i say that so she has to do it, not you. I would powerwash it to clean and get the old flaky paint off. I use BM paint in the west desert where the gov stores and tests missel's. it was industrial paint and it holds up great. it is pricey but you get what you pay for!