entry doors

T

TETRA

order a fir unfinished 9 light exterior door for Lowe's this morning,it was worse then buying a new car!!! Do any of you have a wooden exterior door in your homes? We plan on staining it ourselves..would like to hear from other on how this door is going to hold up...

Just make sure you use a good exterior product on the outside or it will be peeling off and look like crap before you know it. And by good I don't mean what's a good price!

I'm a painter by trade, biggest problem people have with doors like this need regular maintenance. Use a good quality stain, and a finish sutable for your weather are climate. Wood doors are gorgeous but they do require extra TLC, otherwise you can ruin an expensive door within a short time.

They do make a high quality fiberglass door that looks just like wood, requires less maintenance.

If you do stain it, be sure to sand the joints really well. The builders are notorious for letting glue run out onto the wood. It dries clear, but won't accept a stain. Even if they wipe it off while it's wet it will still seal the pores of the wood. Just be sure and sand first.

After many years of refinishing mine, I finally sanded it down and painted it. I'm much happier.

Eel

couple of things.

eel is right, BUT-- many time "100% solid wood doors" are still a solid core with your fir/oak/maple/etc... veneer over the top. this is true no matter the price tag.( you can still pay thousands on a veneer covered, solid wood door)
so be VERY carefull when sanding as to not sand through a veneer.
2nd-

SEA THIN TEAK OIL!!
it is absolulty the best product you can put on a wood door that will be out in the weather. any teak oil will be good, but sea thin teak oil is the beat.