Elk Unit 98

204guy

Lurked here for quite awhile, time to join the foray.

I'm looking for some thoughts on unit 98. I'm a resident and I have 4 relatives that want to come out together next year for elk. They have an average of 1.5 points. One of them does payroll so being gone over the 1st of any month is difficult. They want to hunt archery a few days and then hunt rifle the rest. 98 type 1, opens sept. 20th and looks like about the only unit with a guaranteed draw that works. I have never been in the unit but with map scouting it looks like there are very few roads in the national forest. The non wilderness doesn't look like it has anything with any elevation over 10000 so I'm not sure how many elk will be there. I would say that the hunters will be in average NR elk hunter shape.

Option 1 would be truck camp and hunt non wilderness NF. Without having seen the country I would say realisticly straight line 2 miles from a road would be about max for these guys.

Another option would be to do the resident guide thing with my wife and my self to get into the wilderness but it would be day hunts because they don't have any back backing equipment.

The third thing I've been kicking around is it looks like Big Sandy Lodge will bring you in by horse for a reasonable price.(I don't have or have access to horses) Go deep and high into the wilderness. I would be able to backpack into 98 this summer to do some scouting to find an area.

I'm just not sure what to expect all my experience is on the east side of the winds. My research so far has indicated that hunting pressure is pretty high in 98 but I'm not sure if it's only during the general or type 1 also. Whats a guy to do? PM if you'd rather not share on the open board. I'm willing to share all that I know for gen. hunting in 67,69 for anyone that can help.