Elk hunting mistakes to avoid

nmwapiti

I drew a great tag this year (NM Valles Caldera 2nd Archery) and want to do everything I can to make it a successful hunt. I am relatively new to archery hunting, harvested my 1st elk last season. I learned so much last year, and have to admit that luck played more a role than skill. I blew a chance at a much bigger bull by cow calling too much and basiclly blew my cover. Lesson learned! I am confident in my shooting out to 50 yards, am in good shape, know how to play the wind, got the basics down. Would love to hear your suggestions/tips of things you all have learned to avoid or things that really helped in the past.

Stay out all day
never skyline yourself
stay out of open meadows
use a decoy and set it up behind you
Have a partner call for you maybe 100 yards behind
get up early and get ahead of the elk

like you mentioned, WATCH THE WIND at all times

Be open to changing tactics - if the Bulls continually hang up then have someone call for you get the wind in your face or a cross wind and slowly close the distance to the bull yourself.

Scout out at least 2 to 3 separate areas - don't put a ton of effort into a single area or you might get burned

Work hard

Be confident and persistent

Best of luck to you !!!

Don't get hung up thinking just bugling to an Elk will bring them in like the family Dog.

Try Cow calls, if they don't work, try bugling. If that doesn't work, don't make any noise, get close, then rake a tree. Try getting close without bugling, then one soft bugle and rake. If that doesn't work, don't call at all and get ahead of them and ambush.

Make the shot happen. Don't just stand there next to a tree and wait for him to present a perfect shot. Sometimes you need to take a step or shoot thru a little brush. Get into "shoot mode" and make the shot happen.