Education on wind thermals while hunting

BillyBoB

I am fairly new to hunting and have studied several topics that hunters face while in the hills. I usually hunt northern Utah and firmly believe in paying attention to wind direction. I keep a small bottle with me with scentless powder in it to use to check the wind. However, I have been doing alittle bit of studing online about wind thermals (wind direction in morning/evening) and have found quite a few different views on this subject. I am curious to hear everyones experiences and opinions on this subject.

Thanks

Bottom line..Warm air rises...Cool air falls

In the morning when it starts warming up your scent will be going up mountain...Towards evening when things start to cool it will be going downhill...

This is a rule of thumb...All that can go out the window in the mountains where you get lots of swirling breezes..

horsepoop.gif

Disclaimer:
The poster does not take any responsibility for any hurt or bad feelings. Reading threads poses inherent risks. The poster would like to remind readers to make sure they have a functional sense of humor before they visit any discussion board.

Bucksnort's last sentence is key. There are currents and eddies within the main currents that can wreak havoc if you are not continually watching for them. On a clear day, take your powder out and at different times of day put a bit in the air and watch it (with your binos if necessary) and see how many direction changes it makes over a few hundred yards.

LAST EDITED ON Mar-13-12 AT 12:27PM (MST)[p]Wind is wind, thermals are thermals.

The first cpl hours, thermals are going down, then swirl, then head up. Everywhere I have hunted it takes 2-3 hours before they switch and head uphill in the morning.

All you need to do is to wear scentlock. I think their slogan is, "Forget the wind and just hunt."

If you wash your clothes and spray down with the scent elimination stuff, the critters will never know you're there.