Draw odds report question???

Hi folks. Does anyone know of a good person in WGF that might be willing to explain Draw Odds Report to me? It looks like my son and I should have been able to draw our elk tags but we did not. I am a veteran of apps and have hunted in Wy for elk before. Thanks!!!

Please explain exactly what unit and draw you put in for and the PPs you had and one or more of the members on this Forum should be able to tell you why you didn't draw. WapitiBob, for one, knows as much about the Wyoming draw as any G&F person you would talk to. Fire away and we'll help you ASAP.

35-9 NR regular draw. I had 5pts, son had 6. The odds report said there was only 1 first choice app and one out of three tags were awarded. I don't understand the odds report. I know our Pts were averaged. Thanks!

Last year in the regular draw 2 of the 3 tags went to hunters with 4 points and 1 went to a hunter with 7 acording to hunters trailhead.

So with point creep or a few new applicants it's very possible you wouldn't draw.

Stay thirsty my friends

There was 1 person that applied with 6pts and drew. It shows that there were 2 people that put in with less than 6pts but more than 5pts. And those 2 applicants drew the last 2 tags. There were 40 applicants that applied with 5 pts or less that did not draw. Are you sure about how many pts you had? If you guys averaged 5.5pts like you say there should have been 2 more applicants in the less than 6pts but more than 5pts category.

"Go hunt for meat at Walmart."

LAST EDITED ON Feb-25-14 AT 08:55AM (MST)[p]Sorry, this is for 39-9 not 35-9
http://gf.state.wy.us/web2011/Departments/Hunting/pdfs/DRAW_ELK_PP_NONRES_20140005369.pdf