Diamond Creek tag

Liv4elk

I'm fairly new to this, but I thought I would give this a try. I'm one of the many that didn't purchase an elk tag this year for the Diamond Creek zone. It's been a rough, depressing week for me now as I have hunted that zone for years. If anyone who purchased one of those tags is not going to be using it for whatever reason....please let me know and FG can transfer the tag. Thanks everyone and good luck this year!

You can transfer your tag to a child or grandchild under the age of 18, but that is all I've ever heard.

"General season tags cannot be transferred to a family member. IDFG does have a rule that allows any resident adult person who possesses a controlled hunt tag to designate his or her tag to his or her resident minor child or grandchild who is qualified to participate in the hunt. Nonresident adults who possess a controlled hunt tag may designate his or her tag to his or her nonresident minor child or grandchild who is qualified to participate in the hunt. These rules can be found at http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/13/0108.pdf section 260.
Thank you for the opportunity to answer your question."

Pet Door Sales and Installation
www.idpetdoor.com

Bummer isn't it. I really hope they put that tag in the draw system in the future. The race to get a tag kinda sucks.

That's a bummer. Did you get on the wait list (not the wait list for controlled hunts)? A couple years ago when I didn't get one on time, they asked if I would like to be on the wait list for when people turned them back in for whatever reason. I guess it happens if they asked.

I know the chance is incredibly slim but there is always the 2nd draw.

Assuming your a resident, next year 450+ additional tags should be available so hopefully it won't happen to you again.

Liv4elk,