Deer units

bragabit

I am new to Wyoming and having a hard time figuring out the units Vs. regions. Does every region have a general season hunt? If so does it usually start the 1st of Oct? So then does each unit of the region have a limited (type 1) hunt? If so what are the usual dates for these? I know I read where 82 is open to general season the 1st through 15th then it is limited until the 30th. Is that the way most Wyoming hunts are done?
Thanks

For nonresident deer hunting in Wyoming the state is divided into Regions with a letter designation and each one has numbered units within it's boundaries. Some of the Regions contain what is called "Limited Quota" units and they are designated so you know what they are. You either apply for one of those Regions so you can hunt anywhere in it, except for any of those units I just mentioned, or for just one of those "Limited Quota" units. If you apply for the latter and draw the tag, you can only hunt in that one unit. All of the units have starting dates that are already established and are in the website. The closing dates aren't determined until early summer and then the final pamphlets are printed up with all the information that is sent if you draw a tag. If you just take a few minutes and log onto the G&F website, you can download parts, or all of the 2011 application booklet and everthing is explained in there.

You said you are new to Wyoming. If that means you just moved here you must wait a full year before you can hunt. I hated that. Then you can just buy a general tag for deer and elk or apply for the limited quota hunts. If you don't draw a limited quota you can still hunt general. Other species require drawing out.

You have to be a Wyoming resident for a year to apply as a resident, but he could apply as a nonresident in order to hunt this Fall.